Nebraska State Bandmasters Association

est. 1962

Nate Metschke

Awards Chair

Neligh-Oakdale Public Schools

P O Box 426

Neligh, NE 68756

Bus 402.887.4166

Cell: 402.887.9912

Nate Metschke is a native of Chambers, Nebraska, and currently in his 16th year of teaching for Neligh-Oakdale Schools.  His teaching assignments include 5-12th  Grade Band and 7-12th Grade Choir.  Mr. Metschke is also a member of the Steering Committee for the School Improvement Team, manages the online testing system, and is the Curriculum Coordinator for Neligh-Oakdale Public Schools.  Nate received his Bachelors Degree in Music Education at Midland Lutheran College in Fremont, and earned his Master's Degree in Curriculum and Instruction from Wayne State College.  In 2006, he received the “Outstanding Young Music Educator of the year award” from NMEA.  In 2007, he received the “Jack R. Snyder Outstanding Young Band Director” award from NSBA.  In 2015, he was chosen by the Neligh Chamber to receive the “Outstanding Citizen” award.  Nate has been a guest clinician for various festivals and honor bands in Nebraska.  

Nate and his wife Darcy Metschke, who teaches 4th grade at Neligh-Oakdale, have three children, Madison, 8 and Benson 5, and a new baby Ansley.  

Nate is a member of the NMEA, NSBA, NEA, Phi Beta Mu, has been the coordinator for the Nebraska Class C All-State Band since 2008, and he initiated his own 5th/6th grade honor band in 2009 that was created to give students in small schools a chance to experience performing in a large ensemble.  

Nate really enjoys spending time with my family, mowing his yard, and when he's not at school you can often find him golfing in the summer or playing fantasy football during the NFL season.

NSBA Board


Dan Sodomka

Aurora High School


Dr. Carolyn Barber

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Past President

Brady Rohlfs

Waverly High School


Emiley Bond

Lincoln Christian School


Ryan Marsh

Malcolm Public Schools

Awards Chair

Nate Metschke

Neligh-Oakdale Schools

Concert Band Chair

Duane Bierman

University of Nebraska-Kearney

Marching Chair

Michael Schlake

Ogallala Public Schools

Membership Chair

Brandi Kawula

Lewis & Clark Middle School, Bellevue

Middle Level Chair

Stacy Bean

Horizon Middle School, Kearney

Public Relations Chair

Doug Bogatz

Fremont High School

Jazz Chair

Roger Groth



Sponsor Coordinator

Joanie Mathis

Omaha Symphony