Nebraska State Bandmasters Association

est. 1962

The Donald A. Lentz Outstanding Bandmaster Award is intended to recognize an individual who has made an outstanding contribution throughout his or her career, not to honor an individual for only a given year's work. The recipient of the Lentz Award will be viewed as one of the many superior band directors in Nebraska, and over the years a number exceptional teachers will be so honored. A candidate for the Outstanding Bandmaster Award must be a band director in Nebraska and an NSBA member. Nominations for this award may come from school administrators, fellow teachers, students, community organizations or other individuals who possess a knowledge of the nominee's career.

2017 Recipient - Royce Schweitzer (Heartland Community Schools)

Previous Lentz Award Winners

Lentz Application

This Jack Snider Young Band Director Award was established by the NSBA executive board in honor of the 25th anniversary of the Association. Young directors from all geographic areas of Nebraska will be considered, with the possibility that several directors will receive the award. Nominees must be current members of NSBA, presently teaching in Nebraska, and in their third through seventh year of teaching. Nominations are requested from college directors, student teaching supervisors, school administrators, fellow directors, students or their parents.

2017 Recipients - Troy Ehmke (Hastings Middle School), Samantha Hahn (Norfolk Catholic), Jill Stara (Johnson Crossing Academic Center, Fremont), & Benjamin Veilleux (Hastings St. Cecilia)

Previous Snider Award Winners

Snider Application

The Duane Johnson Distinguished Service Award was established by the NSBA executive board in 2009. Nominees must be current members of NSBA, presently teaching in Nebraska.  There is no application process - winners are selected from recommendations made to the NSBA Board.

2017 Recipient - Larry Rathbun (retired)

Award Information

The Outstanding Administrator Award honors an administrator for his/her support, interest, and encouragement of the school instrumental music program.

2017 Recipient - Jeff Ballar (Principal, Norfolk Cathoic)

Outstanding Administrator Application

Two $300 scholarships are available for NSBA band directors with a minimum of three years teaching experience. Applicants must be enrolled in an instrumental music education graduate course. This course does not need to be taken at a Nebraska institution. Scholarships can be awarded to the same person more than once.

2017 Recipients - Jordan Luke (Raymond Central Public Schools), Jill Stara (Johnson Crossing Academic Center, Fremont)

Band Director Scholarship Application

Undergraduate Scholarship in the amount of $500 is presented to a college student who has completed a minimum of five semesters in a Nebraska College or university music education program, with a wind or percussion instrument as the primary area of study.

2017 Recipient - Joshua Pace (Grace University)

Collegiate Scholarship Application

NSBA presents the “Bob Palensky” scholarship in the name and memory of Bob Palensky, a band director who epitomized the NSBA motto “Better Bands for Nebraska.”  This scholarship is given to honor the memory of directors who have passed away, and for their contributions to the schools and band students of Nebraska.

2017 Recipient - Trey Switzer (Gretna High School)

Palensky Scholarship Application

2017 Retirees - Duane DeVries (Chambers Public School), Lori Evans (Hershey Public Schools), Tom Jaworski (Adams Central Public Schools)

Retiring Band Director Recognition

This award is given to the total high school band program whose members have an average GPA of 3.5 or higher. This applies to high school band programs that consist of students in grades 9-12 or grades 10-12. A plaque will be presented to qualifying band programs during the Awards Banquet at the NSBA Spring Convention.

2017 Recipients - Adams Central High School (Tom Jaworski, Director), Amherst Public School (Joshua Hughes), Ashland-Greenwood Senior High School (Jonathan Jaworski), Dorchester High School (Chelsea Lulla), Hastings St. Cecilia (Benjamin Veilleux), Hyannis Area Schools (Bryan Regier), Lincoln East High School (Tom Thorpe), Millard North High School (Ryan Placek), Norfolk Catholic High School (Samantha Hahn), Pius X High School (Jared J. Wilhelm), Plainview Public Schools (Tessa Jacobsen), Shickley Public Schools (Joshua R. F. Harris), Superior High School (Allison White), Tri-County Schools (Nathan Morrissey), Waverly High School (Brady Rolfs), Wayne High School (Alex Wieland)

Academic Achievement Award Application